Murcof to release The Versailles Sessions


Mexican ambient minimalist Murcof is set to release a new full-length, entitled The Versailles Sessions.
Far from being the follow up to last year's critically acclaimed Cosmos LP, though, the record is a version of a live set that was composed specifically for the Les Grandes Eaux Nocturnes festival at Ch??teau de Versailles in France.

The source material for Murcof's sound manipulation comes strictly from specially recorded 17th century baroque instruments, with harpsichords, flutes and violins amongst the instruments used. Speaking about the project, Fernando Corona has said that he took a last minute change of direction close to the project's completion. "When we did a rehearsal about two weeks before the actual opening, it was pouring with rain so I wasn't able to make the necessary tests. But being there and seeing the space and the installations (big disco balls and video projections on water fountains), I realised I was going in the wrong direction musically. The location demanded a different approach: more openness, more time for the sounds to develop and for them to resonate in that big space, so I went back home and during those remaining two weeks I reworked the whole commission into what it is now."

01. Welcome to Versailles
02. Louis XIV's Demons
03. A Lesson for the Future, Farewell to the Old Ways
04. Death of a Forest
05. Spring in the Artificial Gardens
06. Lully's "Turquerie" as Interpreted by an Advanced Script

A1. Lully's "Turquerie" as Interpreted by an Advanced Script
A2. Death of a Forest
B. Welcome to Versailles
C1. Louis XIV's Demons
C2. A Lesson for the Future, Farewell to the Old Ways
D. Spring in the Artificial Gardens

Leaf will release The Versailles Sessions on December 1st, 2008.